Not much of a secret, but here I am!

journal

contact

credits

links

extra


Work is a hellhole of drama and bullshit, but I'm still standing.

2003-04-14 at 21:40

Work has become a shitty hellhole of drama that has many of my friends either quitting or transferring. More people have quit under the current manager, than any other manager. Let me tell you the latest saga.

We have a manager named "Bobblehead." Of course that's not her real name, but this manager's defining characteristic is that whenever anyone talks she bobs her head, like thos bobblehead dolls you see in the store. Anyway, she was hired into a position that she has NO CLUE about. She doesn't know about fundings, doesn't know how to process a loan or even draw docs. The fact that she has 15 years in the company, means jack squat when you work in a completely different department. Anyway, on Friday, she starts to mutter under her breath, rather loudly I might add, that there was this HUGE conspiracy against her. This was said so loudly and with names involved that everyone heard it, including the names involved. This set things spirialing into motion. To make a long story short "Bobblehead" caused the best funder to quit and give her two week notice about a week before month end. Was this addressed by my boss, nope. All she cared about were her numbers. She didn't address any of the problems that were inherent there. If I was her, I would have sat down "Bobblehead" and read her the riot act, but hey what do I know? I think this shows extreme lack of character on my boss's part as she's the one who interviewed and hired the conspiracy bobble head. To top it off, "Bobblehead" thinks there's another conspiracy going on with the shipping department. One of my friends is supposedly involved in this conspiracy. For those of you wondering, there is no conspiracy. "Bobblehead" is psychotic. She has rubbed me the wrong way since day one, and now I'm beginning to believe my instincts were right.

As for me, it's getting harder and harder to stay where I'm at. I've made a decision. After my birthday in June, I'm going to actively apply for other places: Simi Valley area, Phoenix, Las Vegas, Texas, and back east. I plan to interview at these places and hopefully by summer's end, I'll have a job somewhere. I really don't care where. I just know that the longer I stay here, the more I'll become a slug. I don't want to be a slug. SLugs suck because as soon as you sprinkle a little salt they go all green and foamy. The analogy I was going for lost something along the way, but you get the general idea.

I bought my ticket today for the Rockapella Hayward concert, and I was awarded with a front row, center seat. Go Me! Not too shabby for the 1000+ seat theater. It will be too exciting to see them during the week. Yay!

GeorgeMichael completely kicks ass. I love that man's voice. He reminds me of Scott Leonard because of their ranges, powerhouse voice, range, ability to sound kick ass live, and overall sex appeal. Of course George Michael is gay, and Scott Leonard isn't but you get the idea.

ABC sucks. I can't believe they're most likely ending the show "The Practice." Why did they have to move the show from Sunday nights? Dumb, Dumb, Dumb.

Cats are happy and well. They're spoiled rotten as usual. It's cold tonight so they're extra snuggly.

Last week I felt invisible, especially at work, then I made a decision to not be. I discovered that people are naturally cliquey. People want to belong to a group. Sometimes they don't realize how cliquey they've become till someone points it out. I've never been cliquey and I don't intend to start now. Ask yourselves if you've been cliquey? Invite someone to lunch at work. Talk to the new person. Ask someone how their day was. Show some interest. Those of us who feel invisible will appreciate it. Last week was the first time I had ever been invited out to lunch, and I've worked there almost a year. It's my own fault, I've been sheltered, and held back, but I found out once I started opening up, people responded. It really works. So the next time you feel invisible, step outside the box, and start to share, and if the clique doesn't respond, try again. They may start to respond.

last entry | next entry

Yoda: Sleeping
Bugger: Watching "The Practice"
Angela: Watching "The Practice"

0 have something naughty to say

Miss These?
- - 2006-07-02
I solemly swear that I am up to no good. - 2006-05-05
What has been going on with me - 2006-04-22
year end survey!!! - 2005-12-31
Update from Sunny CA.... - 2005-12-05

>