Not much of a secret, but here I am!

journal

contact

credits

links

extra


What makes a friend?

2003-03-09 at 20:50

Have you ever reached a point in your life, where you know that things HAVE to change, or else you'll start to lose yourself? That's how I feel.

Things have to change, now. I can't wait for it anymore. Things don't come to you, you have to make them happen.

First things first, tighten the inner circle of friends, and find more who are closer to home. I love the fact that I have friends who live all over the place, who are different, and unique, each bringing their own element to the friendship, but I need more who are closer to home. I need to be able to go out and do things, or call at a moment's notice, or just hang out.

In that respect, what makes a friend? Is it someone who talks to you daily and asks how you are and you have that pleasant exchange of niceness? Or, is a friend someone you can trust, who is your best friend and cheeleader, but also your supporter? At one point do you say that a friendship is one sided? At what point does it feel like the friend is only interested in you for one thing, and at what point do you say "enough."

Seriously folks, is a friendship about who calls who, or who does more communicating? Is a friendship about unconditional support and love? Is a friendship, about those who actually give a rat's ass about you, or is it about what you need?

Perhaps a friendship is a two-way street. You need a friend to be your biggest supporter and your most honest critic. You need a friendship to be a two way street, where both give 110%, not 50% from one and 90% from another. Perhaps a friendship is where you don't have to ask if they're you're friend, they just are.

Friendships are like plants, you have to water them, give them sun, and nutrients, or else they won't grow. If you neglet a friendship, then like a plant, it will wither and die.

The next thing is moving. Whether it's to another part of California, or to Texas, I have to go. I need to get away from my life for a while, and just run away. I need a fresh slate and a clean start.

Finally, the job. I need a new one. I'm tired of the job I'm doing, and I need one where I make more money and my title, reflects what I actually do.

If I never jump off that cliff, if I never take that chance, I'll always do the same thing, and I'll always wonder what if. I would rather try and fail, then not try at all. Life is only as good as the effort you decide to put into it. Bitching and being miserable will bring you sorrow. Happiness will bring you joy. I'd rather have the joy, than the sorrow.

last entry | next entry

Yoda: Sleeping
Bugger: Sleeping
Angela: Watching the SAG awards

0 have something naughty to say

Miss These?
- - 2006-07-02
I solemly swear that I am up to no good. - 2006-05-05
What has been going on with me - 2006-04-22
year end survey!!! - 2005-12-31
Update from Sunny CA.... - 2005-12-05

>