Not much of a secret, but here I am!

journal

contact

credits

links

extra


Comfort and Joy isn't very comforting.

2002-11-10 at 21:06

If you haven't heard "Comfort and Joy" by Rockapella, and don't like spoilers then don't continue reading. If you don't care about spoilers, then read below. Either way, read this entry. :)

Let me start by saying I still love Rockapella. I think they're great and hugely talented. I love seeing them in concert and continue to be a fan. However, in regards to this album, I don't like it.

There I've said it. Start your gasps and shocked looks. There hasn't been a Rockapella album I've disliked since Rockapella One. Needless to say, I can safely say this is the second one I don't care for. Why you ask? Let me break it down for you.

1) Too Much Kevin. I love Kevin singing, don't get me wrong. I think he's great, but there's too much. Every song is Kevin. How about a little balance?

2) The album sounds rushed. Granted, it was rushed, but it sounds like it. Their last Christmas album was beautifully produced, and well done. This one seems hurried.

3) Too Many song "breaks." It was cute the first couple times, but every song has a "break" and Rudolph has two. It's like they said ooh a formula, let's overuse it. I know the goal is to take old songs and make them Rockapella's, but the formula with the "break" is overused, especially on this album.

4) To Quote Jenn," Buy some consonants!" Enough said.

5)"I'll Be Home For Christmas" sounds better live, not so Perry Cuomo-ish.

6)Too Many Kids. Yes they're cute, but there's too many.

7)It's too Short!!!!!!!! It bearly makes 40 minutes.

8) Kevin's not Rockin my Christmas tree. Sorry Kev!

For those of you that think I hate the album, I don't. Believe it or not I actually enjoy a few songs. I love "Home for the Holidays" and "All the Lights," the break in "Please Come Home for Christmas," The second break in "Rudolph," "Love and Lights" is cool, "Peace on Earth" has a good melody, "Little Mary Snowflake" is cute, and "It's a Small World" is actually tolerable.

All in all, this album isn't my favorite, and it may grow on me, but right now, I don't like it. Oh well, I've still got Rascal Flatts.

last entry | next entry

Yoda: Eating
Bugger: Sleeping
Angela: Watching Alias....I love this show.

0 have something naughty to say

Miss These?
- - 2006-07-02
I solemly swear that I am up to no good. - 2006-05-05
What has been going on with me - 2006-04-22
year end survey!!! - 2005-12-31
Update from Sunny CA.... - 2005-12-05

>