Not much of a secret, but here I am!

journal

contact

credits

links

extra


I despise and loathe my job with every fiber

2004-09-13 at 21:58

Can you keep a secret? Oh of course you can, my ever loyal and faithful readers. I dislike my job.

Ok perhaps that's too nice of a thing to say. How about this, I despise and loathe my job with every fiber in my body.

Ok, maybe that's too nice. How about this. I hope I get laid off so I don't have to go back or, better yet, everyone in my department is investigated for illegal activity, found guilty and thrown in jail for the next 30 years, including all the supervisors, managers, etc.

Does this convey how much I don't like getting up in the morning and going to work?

Now please understand that I'm not going to quit my job or walk out. No, I'm more of the silent stewer, but still.

It used to be that my job encompassed 3 things. Three very important things that were time consuming, but nevertheless, it wasn't that bad. Then someone in management got the bright idea to pile on a little more work. Ok, couple more things, no big deal. Then they decided to pile on more, and more and more. Add to that, an incessant need to micromanage, because A) We have too many managers as it is and B) we need to have the managers feel important, and you have a small idea of what my day is like.

From the moment I walk in, to the moment I leave I am bombarded with emails. Order this by 10am. Ship these by 4pm. Why wasn't this shipped yesterday? When will this go to QC? and on and on and on. This goes on all day long folks. I'm one of the few people that can handle my job, and I can handle it with minimal supervision, however, I'm having a hard time with the micromanaging. I don't do well with micromanaging. I don't do well with having to justify the work I do every day. I have a hard time losing my bonus to my co-workers because they haven't been properly trained on defi's and their mistakes are affecting my work and the money in my pocket.

I'm sorry but that's bull shit. Make people clean up their own messes. Let's see how the mistakes start to reduce. People will never learn unless you make them responsible for their own work. Oh wait, that's too fucking logical. Have I mentioned that there isn't an ounce of logic there?

Oh yeah, and when your boss is writing love letters all day, instead of doing her job, doesn't offer any support or help to you, and only helps certain people, then why bother staying. Hell I could do her job.

Yes folks this is the ridiculousness that I work in. This is what the company is coming to.

To top it off, there probably isn't a way that I'll be allowed to transfer anytime soon, and if I could take it more I would, but I can't. I'm done. I refuse to let myself become as disillusioned as I was last year. Fuck that.

I've got a lead I'm seriously pursuing and although it'll increase my commute, I don't care. I want out. I'll miss Jaret at work, but it's ok. I'll live. It'll make weekends that much better. Besides there's always text messaging, phone and email. This is a communication world.

So this week on my house, they're working on the inside crap. Plumbing, electricity, etc. They're also putting up brick. YAY!

At least I have one thing to look forword to.

Remember ladies and gents, one thing at a time. That's how I'm surviving. One problem, one moment, one day at a time. Believe me it works.

last entry | next entry

Yoda: Sleeping
Bugger: Sleeping
Angela: Pooped, tired, bleh

1 have something naughty to say

Miss These?
- - 2006-07-02
I solemly swear that I am up to no good. - 2006-05-05
What has been going on with me - 2006-04-22
year end survey!!! - 2005-12-31
Update from Sunny CA.... - 2005-12-05

>