Not much of a secret, but here I am!

journal

contact

credits

links

extra


Concerts Galore

2003-07-26 at 17:50

Now that I've gotten some of the big items out of the way, I'm going to write about my musical escapades I had last week, with Duran, Duran, and Fleetwood Mac.

One of my best co-worker friends is named Nikki. She's quite fun to hang around. She's been a fan of Duran, Duran since she was 12. She even has the board game. At any rate, she purchased these tickets months ago and was supposed to go with someone else, but they had a falling out so when she asked me if I wanted to go, I said yes.

We drove down to the Orange County Fairgrounds, and took our seats. Before we knew it, Duran, Duran came out and they were amazing! John Taylor is still hot and Simon LeBon is one of the most amazing frontmen that I've ever seen. He KNOWS how to work the crowd.

The show was amazing. Two+ hours of all of Duran, Duran's hits including: Rio, Hungry Like the Wolf, The Reflex, View to a Kill, Notorious, etc. I was quite sad when the show ended.

Nikki and I ended up driving the long way back and I could bearly keep my eyes open the next day at work.

We weren't done though, because the next day we bought tickets for Fleetwood Mac. They were playing at the Arrowhead pond. We managed to score 9th row tickets, in the center from Ebay, no less.

I've been a fan of Fleetwood Mac for ages. This show did not disappoint. Although there were sections where I missed the harmonies of Christine McVie, the rest of the band did amazing. Stevie Nicks is an amazing woman in concert. Lindsay Buckingham is just spectacular as a guitarist. Mick Fleetwood is funny and John McVie is quiet and soft spoken.

They sang every FLeetwood mac song I loved, and even a couple of their new ones. I love Stevie Nicks. She's AMAZING!

Our seats made the concert. What a different close to the front makes. They were well worth the $200 we spent on them.

We came home from that and the next day we were exhausted at work. Good thing it was a Friday, and I came home and slept. Saturday, I left for Dallas at 6:37AM and slept the entire way on the plane.

Overall, I had a great time at the concerts. Thanks to Nikki for inviting me and thanks to the bands for two amazing shows.

On a sidenote, rumor has it that Duran, Duran is planning a worldwide stadium tour, based upon the success of the mini concerts they did. Guess who's going to see them again?

last entry | next entry

Yoda: Sleeping in the Kitchen
Bugger: Sleeping in the Kitchen
Angela: Watching Queer Eye for the Straight Guy. I love this show. :)

1 have something naughty to say

Miss These?
- - 2006-07-02
I solemly swear that I am up to no good. - 2006-05-05
What has been going on with me - 2006-04-22
year end survey!!! - 2005-12-31
Update from Sunny CA.... - 2005-12-05

>