Not much of a secret, but here I am!

journal

contact

credits

links

extra


Shit hit the fan, but I'm still standing.

2003-05-24 at 21:49

I wish my life was something more than it is. I worked so hard for so many years and now I'm stuck in this dead end job, with overzealous managers, who have no sense of reality. One manager told someone no to a vacation day 6 months in advance, just because it fell before a holiday? Give me a break. These of course are the same managers who completely block off weeks and weeks on end around all the holidays. So what, the rest of us can't take vacation because of it? I'm just tired of this place and all of it's bullshit. Relief comes within the next two weeks. I just have to hang on until then.

I bet you're wondering what made me curse out my job and say fuck it? Well even if you aren't you're going to get a mouthful.

Last week on Tuesday, the day Buffy ended, I received a phone call from the computer training program I had applied to, saying they wanted to scedule an interview and they had an opening at 2PM on Thursday. This was the only time they had open, and they needed to rush it because most people were on their third interview, and I was only starting my first. I said OK. I went to my team manager and told her the situation and she said OK. Well, she decided to go to the Acting ROC manager, *insert grotesque expletive of horrible names here*, and this person decided to go on a power trip. What happened next started a chain of events and made me realize that NO job is worth all this.

This acting manager from hell, first stopped me in the doorway, in front of a bunch of other employees and proceeded to tell me that 1) I was not allowed to go on the interview, 2) I had to schedule another time and she would be happy to call them for me, 3) The time had to be first thing in the morning, or last thing in the afternoon, because they couldn't let me off of work for that amount of time. When I told her it was the only time available, she proceeded to keep telling me that I could not go on the interview. By this time I was extremely upset. Imagine your supervisor telling you this in front of quite a few other employees. In order to shut her up, and get her out of my face I then offered to come back AFTER the interview. She said no, that it would be too late. I then said that I didn't want to quit over this, but looks like I would have to. I walked off and began to pack my desk up. In my mind, NO job was worth the humiliation I received. My team manager came by, and we then had to have yet another conference with the acting manager from hell, and my team manager. Things got worse from there. In the meeting, I was forced to justify not only my vacation time, but the fact that I was sick on the preceeding Friday, my interview in Plano, and even the time I spent talking to another colleague regarding our computer system ont he day I got back. My team manager didn't speak up for me enough, because none of it should have come into question. I then brought up the fact that I offered to come in after the interview, and got slapped with the comment "All we're asking for is an honest day's work for an honest day's pay." It gets better. The manager from hell then told me that "initially they hired me as a favor to my step-mom," and I didn't know anything, but look how much I know now. The manager from hell then claimed that she didn't know I was offering to make up the time I was gone. Bullshit Lady! Then she said "oh you don't want to quit, not to threaten you, but you'll regret it tomorrow." Blah Blah Blah. The next day was much worse. I couldn't stop crying. So damn upset. For me, this runs much deeper than a manager becoming oversealous with power. It runs to the core of confidentiality, can I take another vacation or sick day without having to justify it, what happens when the ROC manager leaves again, the manager from hell is best friends with my dad's wife, will it affect that relationship, and then saying I was hired as a favor? Will I have to continuously prove myself again and again to this person? NO JOB is worth this.

That's the jist of everything. I've scheduled a meeting with my Boss's bosses next week. I want to transfer out. I want into this computer training program. If I stay I want a pay raise, and a job title change, and I want my schooling paid for. They can kiss my big, fat, white ass. *turns around*

I'm nervous about the meeting, but I know I'm right in this situation. I don't care if it was a "misunderstanding." Bottom line, I was humiliated, and too many liberties were taken. They picked the wrong person to fuck with. I'm a fighter and this makes me that much stronger.

Buffy finale in Hollywood rocked. I had a lot of fun. I missed Tonya! She needs to turn on her cell phone. I kept calling and nothing picked up! :)

June 10th is Buffy DVD's. Thank goodness. I need more of a fix. Getting tired of watching the Mayor storyline.

Other than that, life is slow. I managed to pass my first interview for the computer training program. The second one is next Thursday.

I'm up against 300 people, and they only choose 15. Keep your fingers crossed that I make it. Then I won't have to deal with the bullshit at work anymore. I'll have a whole new bullshit mess to deal with. HAHAHA!

I'm just glad I have friends, and that I can laugh about all of this. I don't have to feel bad because I did nothing wrong. Everything works out and happens for a reason. Someday I'll know why, for now, it got my ass into gear.

I think my dad may have bought me a bed for my birthday. How nice of him. They did ask what I wanted, and I said money towards my bed fund. He said they had to have it delivered. Who knows, kind of cool, but um Dad, you don't have to buy me a bed. I would have gotten it eventually. That will come later with further developments.

I've got to go and do things. Yay for Mad coming to visit! She's gonna love it!

Bugger taught Yoda one of his best tricks. Yoda now gives kisses to me too. It's adorable. You know, even when I had the worst day last week, I came home and my cats were there and they gave me that extra boost of unconditional love. Gotta love animals.

last entry | next entry

Yoda: Sleeping
Bugger: Sleeping
Angela: Watching some movie on VH1.

0 have something naughty to say

Miss These?
- - 2006-07-02
I solemly swear that I am up to no good. - 2006-05-05
What has been going on with me - 2006-04-22
year end survey!!! - 2005-12-31
Update from Sunny CA.... - 2005-12-05

>