Not much of a secret, but here I am!

journal

contact

credits

links

extra


Single Life

2001-11-08 at 10:14 p.m.

Latley I've been moping around, not quite knowing why. I've narrowed it down to two things. Firstly, the lack of having a job has been depressing, and difficult. It's a pain in my side which I do not enjoy.

Secondly, the motherhood club which I'm not a part of. One of my friends recently had a child, and she is yet another friend who has a child. Having a kid is like gaining instant access to a club. Instantly you have something to speak about with other moms, and there's that shared bond which happens between fellow moms. I'm not saying I'm going to go out and have a child. I'm just feeling a tad out of the loop. It's difficult when your friends are having kids, getting married, and living life and you're stuck in a rut looking for a job, with no money, not going anywhere. Now that's depressing.

I'll never understand why being single has so many penalties. Everything is listed as double occupancy in hotels. You receive tax breaks from the government if you're married or have a child. Why? I would think I should be rewarded as single, for not increasing the world population, draining resources, etc. I'm regressing. Even the majority of single characters on TV are considered pathetic if they don't have a significant other with them.

What image is society projecting? If you're single, you're a loser? Let's start giving benefits to the single folks, like me! It's OK to be single! Let's shout it to the world.

Maybe they won't see us as losers.

last entry | next entry

Yoda:
Bugger:
Angela:

0 have something naughty to say

Miss These?
- - 2006-07-02
I solemly swear that I am up to no good. - 2006-05-05
What has been going on with me - 2006-04-22
year end survey!!! - 2005-12-31
Update from Sunny CA.... - 2005-12-05

>