Not much of a secret, but here I am!

journal

contact

credits

links

extra


NY Trip Day One

2002-05-28 at 08:47

Yesterday started out bad, and kept getting worse as time rolled on. Let me start from the beginning and bring you up to speed.

Yesterday morning I awaken to a putrid smell coming fromt he bathroom. Yoda has done her "business" and it's stinky. I go in to clean it up and it's everywhere. After cleaning that, I then corner her hoping to clean her up. When I go to clean her buttox, Yoda tries to bite my head off, and I finally realize her toosh is bleeding. I call my mom in a panic, and she refers me to her veterinarian who is up the street from where she lives. Of course I can't deal with that at the moment, as I have a hair appointment that I'm already running 15 minutes late for. Off to the hair appointment, which remains uneventful until I can't find my debit card. Lovely! I end up paying with the credit card, thinking my debit card is at home. I go home and I tear apart my place, and there's no debit card to be found. I call the bank, cancel the card, order a new one, and find out that I can cash a check from my account at the Washington Mutual bank Branch on 5th avenue in Manhattan. Whoo Hoo! Meanwhile, I have to go to my other checking account, and transfer some funds so I have money to spend while I'm out here. After dealing with this for thiry minutes, I still have to finish packing, write an email to Sherry, and print up a LIRR train map. By the time I get all this done, I realize it's 3PM. I assumed the vet's office closed at 5PM, and it would take at least an hour to drive there in traffic, so I had to jet! I finished packing, cleaned the litterbox, said goodbye to Bugger, covered my snake, wrote the email to Sherry, took out the trash, grabbed my luggage, and headed out the door by 4:15PM.

Luckily, traffic was very light, and I made it to the vet's office by 5PM. Turns out they were open till 7PM so i had plenty of time.

The doctor examined Yoda, and determined she has had a bacterial infection for a while and would have to have medication for a week or so. Great! I'm not home to administer medications, so I left my credit card number, and was able to board her for the 5-7 days she'll be on antibiotics. Meanwhile, I'll be in debt until I'm 30 paying off her vet bill. I'm exaggerating of course, but hey cest li vie. This is life. I simply told the docs, make her well. When the vet called me about her examination, she told me Yoda was not a happy camper with her toosh irritating her. I've deduced thatit was Yoda who went in my bed, and it was Yoda who has been having the soft stools for a few weeks now, not Bugger. Poor girl has been suffering for a while. What a bad owner I am! Oh well, the important thing is that she's getting better and will be back to top form by the time I return. I glad it's nothing serious.

After dealing with Yoda, I head to my mom's to repack my things into the larger suitcase, and then we head off to the airport. Everything's fine until I get on the plane and realize my seatmate is a man who is stinky. I don't know if it was his breath or his undershirt, but every time he moved a certain way, he stunk. Yuck! Um sir, there are things called breath mints, and miraculous devices known as showers. Try one! Your seat mates will thank you. Ugh, after stinky seat man, I managed to catch a few winks of sleep, but it was difficult as people kept bumping into my elbow which kept waking me up. Ugh. Next time I'll get a seat in the last row.

The flight itself was fine. We passed through 11 states to get here. The flight was on time, and catching the shuttle was painless. Jamaica station remined me of the ones in London, so it wasn't a huge culture shock. I ended up having to wait for the next train, as I missed the first one by 30 seconds. They were closing the doors as I reached the top of the stairs. I had a nice long wait, and went people watching, which is always fun. I took the train, picked up the taxi and arrived at Madelin's place, just as her mom was leaving. It was great. I got the grand tour, finally got to meet Mad, and then I sat down to write this. I'm going to write a daily journal of my trip, so updates will be happening daily, yay! Yay for Mad's cable modem! :)

Anyway, I'm off to take a well deserved nap. I can bearly keep my eyes open, and I'll never catch up on sleep if I don't grab a whole bunch right now. Day One of NY Trip is a success! Tomorrow night, Sean, Jenn, and Amy! Whoo Whoo!

last entry | next entry

Yoda: At the Vet's getting well
Bugger: I'm sure getting into something he shouldn't or sleeping in my chair
Angela: Writing email, writing this diary, getting ready to go and crash

0 have something naughty to say

Miss These?
- - 2006-07-02
I solemly swear that I am up to no good. - 2006-05-05
What has been going on with me - 2006-04-22
year end survey!!! - 2005-12-31
Update from Sunny CA.... - 2005-12-05

>