Not much of a secret, but here I am!

journal

contact

credits

links

extra


Frisky

2001-10-16 at 9:51 a.m.

When I was younger I had a cat named Frisky. Frisky was a feral kitty who used to hang out on the wall which separated my house from another. One day I started feeding her. Slowly but surely, she worked herself to being a porch kitty. Then one day I let her in the house. From that day on, she never left. She was home. Frisky had one trait which defined her personality. She loved to burrow.

The first night she was with me, she burrowed herself underneath the covers and slept in the crook right near my tummy. Every night she would do this. This cat also loved to sleep. She would sleep nearly all day, burrowed under the covers sleeping and happy. I often wondered how she could breath under all those covers. Even when I would take out the electric blanket, she would still be there. Her spot was with me. She was my cat.

Frisky's most amusing quality was her burrowing into a freshly dried load of laundry. You know when you take it out of the drier and it has that freshly cleaned smell. When we brought it into the house and dumped it on the couch to begin folding, Frisky would awake from wherever she was and "sneak" into the load of laundry and burrow herself into the warmth. It was startling the first time I found her there. She scared me half to death. The fun part though was distracting my mom enough so she wouldn't see Frisky burrow into the clothes. Warm clothes were my cat's homing beacon.

We ended up having to put my cat to sleep. She died of some kind of cancer and we ended her suffering.

What brought on this happy memory of my previous cat? Yoda. Every night she sleeps on her pillow, sometimes mine, in a little ball near my head. Every morning she pounces on my head when my alarm goes off and begins running around the house.

Cats really do have their own personality.

last entry | next entry

Yoda:
Bugger:
Angela:

0 have something naughty to say

Miss These?
- - 2006-07-02
I solemly swear that I am up to no good. - 2006-05-05
What has been going on with me - 2006-04-22
year end survey!!! - 2005-12-31
Update from Sunny CA.... - 2005-12-05

>